Skip to content ↓

A High Performing Specialist Academy for Technology & Applied Learning

Academy Governing Body and Academy Trust

Collingwood College became an Academy on 1 July 2011.  An Academy is a state-funded independent school and is a Charitable Company Limited by Guarantee, controlled by an Academy Trust.  The Academy is subject to a Funding Agreement which is a formal contract between Collingwood College and the Department for Education.  Please click on the link below to view this document and other documents relating to the Academy structure:

Academy Trust Documentation

Collingwood College's Funding Agreement specifies that the members of the Academy Trust are the holders of the following posts:

a)    Chair of the Governing Body
b)    Vice Chair of the Governing Body
c)    Co-Principals
d)    Chair of a Governing Body Committee

The current Trust members are:

i)     Mr Steven Barker (Chair of the Governing Body)
ii)    Dr John Welch (Vice Chair of the Governing Body)
iii)   Mrs K Griffiths (Accounting Officer/Co-Principal) and Mr E Tanner (Co-Principal)
iv)   Mr Hugh Cowan (Chair of the Standards and Performance Committee)

A meeting of the Full Governing Body takes place once a term.  Dates for the current academic year are 14 December 2018, 3 April 2019 and 17 July 2019.  Meetings commence at 8.00 a.m. and finish at 10.00 a.m.  Please click here to view the protocol for attending these meetings.  Contact Mrs S Rutherford, Clerk to the Governors, for further information at

Curriculum Information